What counties are in the purple tier?

CALIFORNIA'S new color-coded coronavirus system is part of its Blueprint for a Safer Economy, or the state's plan to slow the spread of the virus.

The four Covid tiers are purple, red, orange and yellow.

What counties are in the purple tier?

Purple counties are considered those with widespread Covid-19 cases.

Red counties reflect areas with a substantial number of cases, while orange is the moderate tier, and yellow areas are ones with a minimal number of cases.

Purple, or Tier 1, indicates that Covid is widespread throughout the county – with more than seven cases per 100,000 or more than eight percent of positive test results reported over seven days.

This means around 94 percent of Californians — or roughly 37 million residents — live in counties within the top tier of the state's roadmap to reopening.

These counties include:

  • Siskiyou
  • Shasta
  • Trinity
  • Tehama
  • Mendocino
  • Glenn
  • Butte
  • Nevada
  • Yuba
  • Sutter
  • Sonama
  • Napa
  • Yolo
  • Placer
  • Sacramento
  • El Dorado
  • Solano
  • Contra Costa
  • San Joaquin
  • Stanislaus
  • Alameda
  • Tuolumne
  • Santa Clara
  • Santa Cruz
  • Merced
  • San Benito
  • Monterey
  • Fresno
  • Madera
  • Tulare
  • Kings
  • San Luis Obispo
  • Kern
  • San Bernadino
  • Vern
  • Los Angeles
  • Santa Barbara
  • Ventura
  • Riverside
  • San Diego
  • Orange
  • Imperial

No public or private schools in purple counties can open for in-person teaching.

Church services must take place outdoors as there is a ban on indoor worship.

All retail remains open but shops can only operate at 25 percent of their normal capacity.

Shopping malls also remain open but capacity is restricted to 25 percent and food courts are closed.

Restaurants that serve food outdoors are permitted to remain open but bars and pubs are shut.

Remote working is recommended under the purple tier restrictions.

Professional sports can continue, but only behind closed doors.

How many counties are not in the purple tier?

There are 17 counties that aren't in the purple tier.

Under the yellow tier, restaurants can operate indoors at 50 percent of their capacity, as can movie theaters, bars, and houses of worship.

Yellow tiers include Alpine and Mariposa counties.

Under Tier 4, large amusement parks would also be allowed to open at 25 percent of their normal capacity.

Calaveras, Sierra, Lassen and Inyo will remain at the orange tier.

Del Norte, Modoc, Humboldt, Colusa, Lake, Plumas, Marin, Amador, San Mateo, San Francisco and Mono county are all in the red tier.

Why is the purple tier in place? 

Governor Newsom said he was pulling the "emergency brake" on November 16 in an attempt to curb rising infection rates.

The statewide curfew applies to non-essential workers and gatherings in purple-tier counties and will remain in effect until December 21 at 5am.

He said: "We are sounding the alarm. California is experiencing the fastest increase in cases we have seen yet – faster than what we experienced at the outset of the pandemic or even this summer.

"The spread of Covid-19, if left unchecked, could quickly overwhelm our healthcare system and lead to catastrophic outcomes."

Source: Read Full Article