Who has first pick in the NFL Draft 2020, and how is the order decided? – The Sun

THE NFL is gearing up for the annual Draft – but this year with a difference.

Originally slated to take place in a lavish Las Vegas ceremony, coronavirus has forced the league into taking drastic social distancing measures.

As such, players and officials will have to conduct their business via Zoom in the first ever virtual draft – and Joe Burrow is the big favourite to go first.

Who has first pick in the NFL Draft 2020?

BURROW is a star quarterback in the making after a stunning 2019 with LSU.

He's 1/200 to go first in this year's Draft, so barring a miracle will be the fifth QB drafted first in the last six years.

Last year, Heisman Trophy winner Kyler Murray was taken first by the Arizona Cardinals and immediately placed as starter.

He made a promising start to his NFL career, but was hampered by a poor O-line and finished the season with 3,722 yards, 20 TD's and 12 INT's from 16 matches.

There is plenty of pressure on the No1 pick to perform, but it's notable that no team has ever gone from the first overall pick to a Super Bowl win in the same season.

In 2020, the Cincinnati Bengals have first overall pick.

How is the order decided?

THE NFL is played out over a 17-game regular season, before playoffs decide which two teams face-off in the Super Bowl.

At the end of each season, teams are ranked on performance, from No1 to No32.

The first round of the NFL Draft flips these rankings on their head.

As such, the worst team from last season gets the first pick of the college stars.

The system is designed to prevent one team from dominating the league for years on end, with the Bengals this year hoping Burrow can solve their quarterback woes from 2019.

This year's Draft order is as follows:

  1. Cincinnati Bengals
  2. Washington Redskins
  3. Detroit Lions
  4. New York Giants
  5. Miami Dolphins
  6. LA Chargers
  7. Carolina Panthers
  8. Arizona Cardinals
  9. Jacksonville Jaguars
  10. Cleveland Browns
  11. New York Jets
  12. Las Vegas Raiders
  13. San Francisco 49ers
  14. Tampa Bay Buccaneers
  15. Denver Broncos
  16. Atlanta Falcons
  17. Dallas Cowboys
  18. Miami Dolphins
  19. Las Vegas Raiders
  20. Jacksonville Jaguars
  21. Philadelphia Eagles
  22. Minnesota Vikings
  23. New England Patriots
  24. New Orleans Saints
  25. Minnesota Vikings
  26. Miami Dolphins
  27. Seattle Seahawks
  28. Baltimore Ravens
  29. Tennessee Titans
  30. Green Bay Packers
  31. San Francisco 49ers
  32. Kansas City Chiefs

Source: Read Full Article