Facebook: How to block contacts on Facebook – can they see you have blocked them?

Facebook is supposed to be fun but some people can take social media too seriously.

Sometimes situations arise that require more than just unfriending a person.

You may need to block someone on Facebook, meaning they will no longer be able to do things like tag you in posts or see your timeline.

Express.co.uk will show you how this relatively easy process is done.

What is blocking?

When you block someone, they won’t be able to see things you post on your profile, tag you in posts, comments or photos, invite you to events or groups, start a conversation with you, or add you as a friend.

If you block someone you’re friends with, Facebook will unfriend them as well.

If you don’t want to unfriend someone but see less of their posts on Facebook, you can take a break from them instead.

Bear in mind blocking someone may not prevent all communications or interactions (for example, in apps or groups) and only affects your interactions with that person on Facebook.

How do I block someone?

Click at the top right of Facebook and choose Settings.

Go to the left side of Facebook and click Blocking.

Enter the name of the person you want to block and click Block.

Select the specific person you want to block from the list that appears and click Block [name].

If you can’t find someone using this method, try going to the person’s profile and selecting Block from the menu on their cover photo.

Can they see you have blocked them?

People will not be notified when you block them.

You can also block mesages from users on Facebook as well.

They won’t be able to contact you in the Messenger app if you do this – and they also won’t be notified.

But unless you block someone’s profile, they may be able to post on your timeline, tag you and comment on your posts or comments.

How do I unblock someone?

When you unblock someone, that person will be able to see your posts on Facebook that you share with the public.

The person won’t automatically become your friend on Facebook.

If you want to become friends with a person who you’ve unblocked, you’ll need to send them a friend request.

Start by clicking at the top right of Facebook and choose Settings.

Go to the left side of Facebook and click Blocking.

In the Block Users section you should see a list of people you’ve blocked.

Click Unblock next to the name of anyone you want to unblock.

Then tap Unblock next to the name of the person you want to unblock.

Source: Read Full Article